Cynicism, oh how I detest thee.

I talked to a good friend today about her blossoming relationship. It’s hard to not be in love with her. She is really one of the warmest, most caring people I know. It’s amazing to me how she can let someone in her heart so easily.

Her words on hearing “I love you” from her significant other:

“It was like a slow motion bullet went right through me at that moment.” Damn that’s good.

***

One of the new things I started intensely started reading up is about is Buddhism and Hinduism from an e-book called “Hinduism and Buddhism” by Sir Charles Eliot. (Free on your kindle!) I have read about it in Korean and since my Dad’s side is very Buddhist–not to the extreme point of being ascetic or vegan–and very conscious of his daily actions vis-a-vis Buddhist teachings. It was interesting reading about it from the Western perspective. There are definitely Buddhist influences in Western philosophy, for example, in Nietzsche and his thoughts on morality and ethics.

From Sir Eliot’s book:

In Persia, where the original Pantheon was almost the same as that of the Veda, this idea produced monotheism: the minor deities became angels and the chief deity a Lord of hosts who wages a successful struggle against an independent but still inferior spirit of evil. But in India the Spirits of Good and Evil are not thus personified. The World is regarded less as a theatre for the display of natural forces. No one god assumes lordship over the others but all are seen to be interchangeable–mere names and aspects of something which is greater than any god.

Of course, this is expressed differently in Nietzsche, but in “Good and Evil,” the problem of relativity of ethics arise.

The reason I bring this up is because it made me think about the relative feeling of being in love. It may seem like I’m forcing a connection between the two ideas here, but I’ll try my best to explain. I don’t believe in “soul mates” or that there may be a single person (apart from the whole population or similar people) who one is meant to be with. In my mind, this is connected to relativity in ethics. There is not a concrete way to be right, or moral. I maybe taking things too far by understanding the concept too literally, though.

Leave a Reply

