What to Do During an Idle Month of Summer (without doing any extensive planning)-Part I

The above title is, sadly, an accurate description of what’s about to happen for the next month for me. After being in the air (flying) for about 10 times back and forth from Asia (Daegu and Seoul, Korea) to Europe (Paris and London) to the US last year, my family decided that it’s not time for another “one of those” vacations yet. C’est dommage. So this summer, to say the least, I am doing absolutely nothing exciting.

Well, maybe except for the following.

Part I: Books (for pleasure.)

The unfortunate truth is that college really doesn’t allow time for books outside of the classroom. There is reading for class, extra reading if you’re interested, spontaneous social happenings, practice (if sports is your thing)… Unless you go hide behind the fifth floor library quiet study hall desk, it ain’t happening. A huge grievance. So that’s why I have let loose to get my hands on these books.

Some of these coincide with my class readings, but at least they’ve earned my interest one way or the other.

I planned to read at least fifty books this summer, and I’ve only managed about 20. But it’s OK. I still have another month!

  1. Jonathan Lethem, Chronic City
  2. Marx, The Communist Manifesto
  3. Derrida, Deconstruction in a Nutshell
  4. Miranda July, No one belongs here more than you
  5. A. Huxley, Brave New World
  6. Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Love in the Time of Cholera
  7. Knut Hamsut, Pan
  8. Ernest Hemingway, The Sun Also Rises
  9. Margarette Duras, The Lover
  10. Paul Auster, The book of illusions
  11. The Western Intellectual Tradition
  12. Remnick, Lenin’s Tomb
  13. Barbara Demick, Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea
  14. Barbara Ehrenreich, Nickel and Dimed
  15. Simone de Beauvoir, The Second Sex
  16. Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion
  17. Kyungsook Shin, Please look after mom
  18. The Portable Atheist:Essential readings for the Non-believer
There are some others that I have not recorded, but I will update this list soon.
This is a pretty arbitrary list. I usually have a thousand book lists and about five books I read simultaneously because of  my greed to devour all the books in the world coupled with my laziness and Netflix, which can entertain me in a more empty calories kind of way.
If any of bibliophiles are reading this out there, please feel free to give me some good titles! I am quite lost without books these days.
But If you are lost in which book to pick, here are some links to good reading lists:
Granta, the Brit lit mag’s bookstore
Brain Pickings, true to its name. Always has TED like articles and book recommendations. Here is their latest book list from TED speakers.
Every summer I go to at least one book reading. Last year I went to Shakespeare’s in Paris to see Lethem and this year I saw Gary Shteyngart at the Strand. Where next?
screaming at the top of my lungs,
A

 

Leave a Reply

